50,000-word novel in 30 days? Challenge accepted!

It’s always been my lifelong long-time aspiration to author a novel. And this is going to be my best bet achieving that. Through NaNoWriMo.

So, what’s this NaNoWriMo?

NaNo in a Nutshell

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing. On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 p.m. on November 30. Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought fleetingly about writing a novel. Here’s a little more about how it all works.

One-day event

The Office of Letters and Light, the nonprofit behind NaNoWriMo, identifies one real issue with potential novelists: lack of time and motivation. Most wannabe writers, myself included, will never be able to make the time it takes to write a full novel.

The desire wanting to write a novel will be present but low down other “pressing” priorities for it to have any impact. NaNoWriMo intends to deal with this — by putting itself at the top of the priority list. I am fine with that. As long as I manage to complete my novel.

First draft

There is also an emphasis on the quantity rather than quality. Reason: quantity is much easier to measure than quality. After all, the only real purpose for a first draft is to exist.

I do have my Semester exam in November but I plan to make time right before and after the exam. Heck, exams come every so often but a chance to write your novel? Not often enough.


P.S. I’ll let you in on a little secret. I totally posted this to prevent myself from falling back on the promise to complete a novel this November. If no one knew about my challenge, then there’s no shame of me failing on the challenge.

If you see me anywhere after November, ask me if I did get done with the novel. I probably would have — but if I decide not to in the middle of the month, the possibility of being shamed will hopefully act as a sufficient motivator to get me to complete the first draft of the novel.

Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

2 thoughts on “50,000-word novel in 30 days? Challenge accepted!”

Leave a Reply

