Heroes don’t exist

How’s life, girls and booze?, I inquired my friend. I hadn’t seen him around for some time and I just wanted to catch up with him. Now, this question is not something I usually ponder upon, but his reply made me self-reflective and dwell in my world. So, join me for a ride as I turn my heart inside out, will ya?

This is the first blog post on the topic Life, girls and booze as I talk, comment, explore or blabber about it.


Heroes don’t exist

Superman

Know him? Superman, arguably the most popular superhero in the world, has everything to do with this blog post. Because heroes don’t exist. Not in the world we live. They only do in books, comics, movies and other fictional works — much like Superman, Batman and a host of other superheroes.

It’s rather unfortunate we are culturally trained to worship people as “heroes” when they do good deeds. Doing so categorically moves the actions of “heroes” into the extraordinary / supernatural category and the common man will make no effort to remotely emulate those actions. Because, only heroes can do that!

Terming a person as ‘hero’ is a convenient way to appreciate the actions yet quickly move away from doing so yourselves. Instead, consider them nothing more than a fellow human being and their actions will no longer look monumental and you might even be persuaded to replicate their actions.

Besides, heroes don’t actually exist. There is a Mr Hyde in every Dr Jekyll and that is not excepting the “heroes”. Molly Willms puts her case against heroism so eloquently in her Ditch your heroes: they don’t exist1:

Hello, my name is Humanity, and I have a hero problem.

I know the concept of heroizing is varying degrees of importance from culture to culture, but many of us have a tendency to idolize and idealize those who do things we deem “good.”

Think about it: when it comes to scandals and discussion, there’s little that measures up to the attention we give “good guys” when they do something bad.

As much as we are quick to worship heroes, we are also quick enough to throw dirt at them, as soon as they fall from grace. If only we recalled the little fact that they are not meant to be infallible! It’s not like they claimed to one either.

Big names, from the recent famous infamous Lance Armstrong and Tiger Woods to the historic ones like Gandhi and Mother Theresa, all had their unpopular sides. Molly makes a case against several other prominent people (take a look!) and I don’t want to dwell in the misdeeds — not because it would leave a bad taste but rather because it would make my point too strong. 😉

I’ll leave you with this beautiful dialogue from one of the episodes of Sherlock.

Heroes don’t exist, John. -- Sherlock Holmes

Source: http://fyeahsherlock.tumblr.com/post/14814595493/heroes-dont-exist-john

Dr. John Watson: There are lives at stake Sherlock. Actual human lives. Jus-Just so I know, do you care about that at all?
Sherlock Holmes: Will caring about them help save them?
Watson: Nope.
Sherlock: Then I’ll continue to not make that mistake.
Watson: And you find that easy, do you?
Sherlock: Yes. Very. Is that news to you?
Watson: No. No.
Sherlock: I’ve disappointed you.
Watson: Good. That’s good deduction. Yeah.
Sherlock: Don’t make people into heroes John. Heroes don’t exist and if they did, I wouldn’t be one of them.


If you were wondering what my friend replied to my question How’s life, girls and booze?, this is what he had to say: Life is boring, girls are complex and I can’t drink booze. Another teetotaler I presume.


  1. For whatever reason, the entire website is down. Here’s a useful link to an archive of the entire article. 
Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

Leave a Reply

