Giving back 2013

You know what’s the best part of being a moderator on Ask Ubuntu? Not the great informative posts. Not the fun and frolic around the community. And definitely not the many flags. The former two comes very close but don’t quite beat the best.

Every year, Stack Exchange makes it a tradition to donate $100 to charity on behalf of each moderator in the network. Back when I was just merely a contributor to Stack Exchange, I needn’t an invitation to spend my time and energy on the site. Already sold by their policy of making Internet a better place, I was on the site every other day learning new things and teaching others what little I knew.

So, when I first heard about Stack Exchange’s “giving back” program in 2011, I secretly started hoping I became one of the moderators on the network. Stack Exchange’s repeat of the program in 2012 further fueled my desire and I threw my hat up for the business in the next elections in February 2013.

Luckily enough, with the blessings of the awesome community, I became one of the community mods on Ask Ubuntu and I continued my contributions to the site and the community.

Relatively engrossed in my commitments to the community, I had almost forgotten about the Stack Exchange’s program until I happened to receive the pick-your-donation email from Stack Exchange earlier in December 2013.

I joyously made my decision to donate to Wikimedia Foundation. Donating $100 out of my pocket is almost impossible at this point of time for me and I am grateful to Stack Exchange for giving me the opportunity to taste the feel of philanthropist.

Thank you once again Stack Exchange and wishing the readers a happy and prosperous new year 2014.

Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

Leave a Reply

