Well, NaNoWriMo was tough

It took me this long to admit — and it was painful — that I am going to give up on NaNoWriMo this year. It was my virgin attempt at NaNoWriMo (and at writing a novel as well) and I imagined it to be easier than it was. That was a blunder now I wish I hadn’t committed.

I took the whole process easy and didn’t put in a honest attempt until it was too late. I only really started writing around the mid-second week of November. I knew I can’t spend enough time writing with my Semester exams coming in the third week. Yet, I didn’t bother too much with NaNoWriMo initially.

I expected myself to do long hours at a stretch towards the end of the month and catch up with the backlog. It didn’t quite work out like that though. My quality of writing took a hit (massive enough to convince me to throw out everything I wrote thus far1) and I couldn’t force myself to sit and write either. It was difficult and it was ugly.

The whole episode was a regrettable mistake and as it turned out, I only wrote 16,000-odd words, far short of the 50,000 words required to rightfully win at NaNoWriMo.

At least, it wasn’t a lose-lose situation. I now know exactly what to look for, what blunders to avoid and how to get on and win at NaNoWriMo next year. Hurray for that!

And a takeaway too: Write early. Write often. It might be clichéd but it does apparently work wonders.


  1. I decided against it though. No father would discard his child no matter how naughty the child is. 
Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

4 thoughts on “Well, NaNoWriMo was tough”

  1. Don’t discard it. You can always edit a bad page. I would also suggest seeing your first draft to the end. It is a cathartic experience.

    1. Yes. I didn’t discard my draft because it was just too painful to throw them all away. And your suggestion is actually quite good. Some day soon, I’ll get back to my drawing board and complete the novel. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

