Regrets

Regrets come in many flavours. From the lost aspirations to the broken relationships, from the silly ones to the life destroyers, people have plenty of things to regret about and reproach themselves. I’ve had (and still have) a fair share of them myself.

I regret not learning Hindi. I regret not getting actively involved in sports. I regret wasting time on online conversations when I could have spent that time working on my statistics homework (this particular one had very significant impact on my future career decisions). This list of regrets goes on.

Carrying these regrets was boggling me down and quite severely too. I constantly drifted into a pensive mode, evaluating my life choices and wondering where I would have been if I had paid a little more attention to statistic lessons.

It was James Altucher who saved me, my go to man for everything philosophical these days. He tells me regrets aren’t good for anything:

Don’t time travel into the past, roaming through the nuances as if they can change. Don’t bookmark pages you’ve already read. Today it starts all over again. Every tomorrow is determined by every today.

And that’s exactly what I needed to hear. I don’t have to know and I don’t want to know how things could have shaped if I had done some things differently. They also tell me people are more likely to regret things they haven’t done as opposed to regretting things they actually have done.

http://xkcd.com/458

Today’s here and I should work on preventing any possible regrets that I might cause myself in the future. And I shall do just that by posting this.

So, go forth and live a happy life, free of regrets and be sure to cherish this new found freedom.

Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

Leave a Reply

