Celebrating first anniversary of using Ubuntu

It’s been exactly a year since I really started using Ubuntu. Yesterday, as I was going through my tweets over the last year or so, I came across this tweet:

That was the time I really started to try out Ubuntu. It is a pleasant surprise that I stuck to using it since then. The first year of me using Ubuntu has been splendid and one of the main reasons for that has to be the awesome community. The community has been wonderful and it made me feel that everyone can contribute in their own unique way and that made me feel special in spite of the differences amongst us.

During the first year, I have had a lot of fun while translating strings to Tamil, answering questions on Ask Ubuntu, writing articles for the community blog 2buntu.com and many more other fun activities. I have had tried out packaging, fixing string-size bugs, syncing packages from upstream, report and triage bugs and even test development release for a significant amount of time.

If I were given a choice between the various operating system right now, I would choose Ubuntu hands down. And, I would continue to use it as long as the project stays alive. Many thanks to sabdfl for starting this wonderful project and many more thanks to everyone who has contributed to Ubuntu in their own way making Ubuntu a better software for others to use.

Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

2 thoughts on “Celebrating first anniversary of using Ubuntu”

  1. Congrats! Really glad to have you in the Ubuntu community and thank you for all your awesome contributions! 🙂

    1. Thank you David! Words like these separate other communities from Ubuntu and make it such an awesome community to work with. I am more than excited to continue working with this community for many more years to come. 🙂

Leave a Reply

