What made me try out Ubuntu?

I always wanted to write about how I got hooked onto Ubuntu. I got some spare time now and here comes the post.

I installed Ubuntu in my computer mainly because I liked experimenting with my computer and I was plainly curious about how the whole Ubuntu OS will work out. I have some experience installing a WUbi install on my home computer about two years ago (2009). While I found Ubuntu “cool”, it wasn’t enough to captivate me. I wasn’t fully convinced to switch to Ubuntu as my main OS. When I bought myself a new computer in 2010, I installed another WUbi and removed it later on when I was running low on disk space. Come 2011 and this time around, I got a pair of Live CD for Lubuntu 10.10 and Ubuntu 10.04 from Hrishi. I installed them in a new partition and let them stay there for a while.

After a couple of months, I broke my monitor and it was only fixed during the June holidays. When I got my monitor fixed, I observed the grub menu this time around and wanted to see what Ubuntu has to offer after all. When I booted into Ubuntu, it offered to upgrade to 10.10. And then again to 11.04. I had no idea what I was about to see. When I eventually logged in, I saw shiny big buttons on the left side. I could feel something tingling inside of me. For the next 10 months, I have been using Ubuntu as my main OS. In short, it was Unity that sold me Ubuntu.

Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

Leave a Reply

