Broken screen: Mystery solved

Why my blog has been relatively quiet around a while ago can possibly be explained by this rather interesting development. I hope you will have a good read and like the incident or would I have to say accident.

One great event in the month of May other than the trip to Nepal, which was covered in an earlier blog post, is the wrecking of my laptop screen. The string of events leading to this disaster might not be very eventful. Nevertheless, it is amusing. At least to me. Let me narrate the events on that dreadful night:

I had my laptop in the study room, which is two floors below my room. I went to collect my clothes from the laundry, which is in the same level as the study room and I would say it is a quite huge pile of clothes. I am sure by now, most of you would have a mild idea of what would have possibly happened after this. Anyway, I was pretty lazy that night and I decided to carry both the mount of clothes and the laptop in a single go. That is not the best part. Something very crucial and important did not strike me that night. That I am going to break the laptop screen. I put my mouse on the keyboard and partially closed the lid. So, that means the mouse is in between the keyboard and the screen. Over which I am going to place the huge pile of clothes and carry it to my room which is two floors above. During which I heard a slight cracking sound and I thought it was the mouse getting crushed by the heavy clothes mount.

So, I took my time to remove the mouse from in between the lid and the keyboard thinking the mouse probably got cracked somewhere. Just when I reached my room and flipped open the lid did I realize the calamity that has just struck me. I realized what a stupid blunder I have just committed. I knew it is going to cost me a couple of hundreds of dollars to fix the broken screen and I really needed a laptop to finish off all my homeworks and assignments for the next week. It was a crucial week in school curriculum actually. Somehow, I managed to last that whole week. I am still not sure how it actually went. Borrowing laptops from friends and using public computers. It was rather tedious but I didn’t have any choice.

The all famous broken screen

It is not like the laptop is totally useless after the screen was broken. I could still use a quarter of the screen albeit in inverted colours. Though the colour-bleached screen was very hard on my eyes. Eventually I got my laptop screen replaced, but only after shelling out a good lump of money. That too only after almost an entire month.

The working quarter filled with Google Chrome browser.

 

Author: jokerdino

Ubuntu member. Ask Ubuntu moderator.

Leave a Reply

